Have you ever wondered about the mysterious X sign that appears next to chats on Snapchat? Well, you’re not alone. I did some research to understand what does the X mean on Snapchat.
The X icon often replaces the camera icon for some users in their chat section. It is a part of a recent update where Snapchat rolled out many new features. So, if you spot an X icon on Snapchat, it signifies that the person is not on your friends list.
Does X on Snapchat mean blocked? Does the X on Snapchat mean they unadded you? These are some more questions that I will be addressing ahead.
Let’s introduce you to the Snapchat language!
Meaning Of X On Snapchat: Is It A Weird Icon?
X on Snapchat means you are not friends with the other person on the app. But how did it happen? You must have sent the connection request or the other person must have. However, the friendship request went unnoticed.
Reasons for The Snapchat X
The reason that the X icon appears on Snapchat is not straightforward and can be because of many reasons. Some of the possible ones are mentioned here:
1. You didn’t accept the friend request
If someone sends you a friend request and you don’t accept it, an X will appear next to that person’s chat. To check if this is the case, you can click on the name, and it will show you the status.
Also, clicking on X can block the person or clear the conversation with them. But what if you send the request, and still this icon appears?
2. The user didn’t accept your request
The X icon can also appear even if the other person doesn’t accept your friend request. Sadly, you were the only one interested in this friendship, and the person didn’t reciprocate.
So, it’s better to end it from your side as well and clear that chat from your list.
3. Someone Unfriended you
What does the X on Snapchat but still friends mean? Yes, you guessed it right; the X on Snapchat but still friends means that the other person has unfriended you, and now you are no longer friends on Snapchat.
We can also put it another way: Does the X on Snapchat mean they unadded you? Well, the answer to Does the X on Snapchat mean they unadded you doesn’t follow the answer to the X on Snapchat but still friends question.
The X on Snapchat doesn’t need to always mean that someone unadded you.
Moreover, it is also possible that the other person must have done it unknowingly. But it means that you are no longer on their friend list on Snapchat.
4. You unfriended someone
If you unfriend a person on Snapchat, an X will also appear next to the person’s chat. Likewise, the same will be the case for that person; an X icon will appear next to your name in his/her chat section. So they will easily know about it.
5. You got blocked by someone
The other reason for an X icon on Snapchat is that the other person has blocked you on the app. Additionally, if you do the same, the X icon will show up again.
However, this doesn’t need to be the reason for it.
You can confirm it by searching for that person on Snapchat; if you don’t find them, you are blocked. And if not, don’t worry; that could be a temporary glitch too.
How To Get Rid Of X Icon?
If you find the X icon irritating and want to get rid of it, the following are some simple steps that can help you:
- Go to the chat of that person in the chat section.
- Tap on the username next to which the X icon is appearing.
- A window with two options will appear: Report or Block, and an Okay option.
- Tap Okay if you don’t want to end the conversation.
- Also, on the top-right corner, the add icon will appear.
- Tap on that icon to add the person to your friend’s list.
- On the other hand, if that is a pending request, accept it first, and the X icon will disappear.
How To Add People On Snapchat?
Now that you want to start everything on a healthy note with that X icon gone, go through how you can add people on Snapchat. It can be someone from your contact list, someone you found through a mention, or someone you searched for. Here’s how you can add them:
- Go to the profile section by tapping on the top-left corner of Snapchat.
- Scroll down and click on Add Friends.
- If you want to add quickly, follow up on the ‘all contacts’ option.
- Two tabs will appear with people who are on Snapchat and others who are not.
- You can add anyone from the first list.
- Also, you can go to the Find Friends section and search for the person you want to add.
- Then, send the friend request, and once the person accepts it, they will be added to your friend’s list.
And Also Click here to unlock the butterflies lens on Snapchat.
The other trending question than what does X mean on Snapchat is: Does X on Snapchat mean blocked? The X on Snapchat does not indicate that the person has blocked you.
Although this can be a reason behind it, it’s not necessary to be so. There can be many reasons, which are mentioned above.
Hence, before drawing any conclusions, get the facts clear. You can search for the person, and if you find them, you will get a clear picture. Also, if you don’t want that X anymore in your chat section, you can get rid of it by clearing all the conversations with that icon.
As a Social Media Specialist, Paulward brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to our team. They have a passion for Social Media Specialist and are dedicated to helping our clients succeed.